Forward

Posted: October 30, 2013 in novel

I do not forecast these events.  This future timeline is a step that has taken considerable preparation for a series of novels.  That path began with a true historic timeline, and now with a future one.

I am a fan of science fiction.  I even enjoy it when it is bad.  For me, the fiction can be bad for many reasons, characters I care little about, plot lines that adhere only by coincidence, unreasonable turns taken by writers that do not appear to have read their own work.  The science can fail for the same or other reasons.  I have often wondered why aliens whose only purpose in life is to consume violently have developed technology capable of breaking laws of relativity.  The science fiction that makes me think holds me for all of the right reasons.  I want my fiction to make you think.

Early in this timeline, early so that I will not spoil it badly, geneticists complete the mapping of DNA and learn how to clone organisms.  They almost have reached the former and can perform the latter.  Reasonably, next ability in the sequence would be the creation of unnatural organisms, and likely this discovery would first turn to microbes.  Genetic engineering could instill desired genetic traits.  Natural microbes are reasonable for decay and composting.  If geneticists could produce more effective decay, they could accelerate decay.  Decay was the first step in the formation of certain types of fossils, namely oil.  Oil is basic in our current lifestyle, and supplies are becoming exhausted.  Effective fungi might lead to rapid fossilization.  That idea is a stretch.  Fossilization took millennia, but if the fungi are effective enough, perhaps…

The science, business and politics I reveal are items of fiction, but I have tried to make most anticipations as reasonable as possible, while planning out the background to my actual novels.  I think they are interesting enough that you may enjoy.  Please note that the first few years of the timeline concern recent history, and are real and mostly accurate.  Their typeface is italic to make it distinct from the fiction.

The fiction is unique.  The plot is our future.

Leave a Reply

